Getting It Done

Posted on December 21, 2010. Filed under: Encouragement/Empowerment |

208.365 – Light Reading, originally uploaded by Josh Liba.

“The more that you read, the more things you will know. The more you learn, the more places you’ll go.”
— Dr. Seuss, “I Can Read With My Eyes Shut!”

A few months ago, I started reading again. Not just reading but really reading. I had an epiphany. Growing up, reading was like breathing. I would read 3 or 4 books in one week and had so much fun doing it. Reading was my escape. It was a way for me to learn about things that I had never experienced and live in a life that I had not known. Over the years as life evolved and the television became more popular, my desire for reading waned. I replaced the book with mindless television programs and issues of life.

However, I am grateful that I am back to one my first loves. I recently started thinking about reading and wanting to read. Unfortunately, every time I started to read, my mind would venture into thoughts about activities, agenda’s and plans. I had to find something to cut out all the extra noises. I found it after a few weeks. Since quiet does not work and songs did not do it I tried a CD that was only instrumental. No words, just soothing piano sounds. That did the trick. I can now read for hours without being distracted.

The old saying is true, “Where there is a will there is a way.” So, I challenge you in 2011, set goals, make plans and pray. You will discover the answer to your questions and the path to your purpose. Once you are determined to do it, you will find the way. Do not let finances or your own personal issues stop you. You can do it in 2011. It is your year!

And while you are at it, take time to gain knowledge through reading. It is exciting and educational all at the same time. Some of my book recommendations can be viewed at:  http://tinyurl.com/2cm97up

Here’s to A Very Merry Christmas and great plans for 2011.

“No matter how busy you may think you are, you must find time for reading, or surrender yourself to self-chosen ignorance.”
– Confucius

“Not all readers are leaders, but all leaders are readers.”
– Harry S. Truman

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

