Happy Thanksgiving!!!

Posted on November 26, 2009. Filed under: Encouragement/Empowerment, Spiritual |

Today as we celebrate Thanksgiving, I am reminded of so many things to be thankful for.  My health because so many people who I know have not been able to live to see this day.  My mind because so many people are in mental institutions right now or are in prisons right now as a result of “losing their minds”.  My family because so many people are still searching for the love of a family.  My relationship with God because without Him, I would never have survived the past 2 years of turbulence in my life.  I am so thankful and so very grateful today for the little things.  The things that are priceless, the things that seem miniscule.  I am thankful.  The challenges that I have had to face have allowed me to be even more thankful this Thanksgiving.  And, as the first American Thanksgiving was celebrated in 1621 to give thanks for a harvest gathered after a tough winter, I am celebrating a huge harvest that is on its way in 2010.  This poem below really demonstrates how I am feeling right now.  A friend sent it to me and I am sharing with you today…..Happy Thanksgiving to All Today!!!!!

Be thankful that you don’t already have everything you desire.
If you did, what would there be to look forward to?
Be thankful when you don’t know something,
for it gives you the opportunity to learn.

Be thankful for the difficult times.
During those times you grow.
Be thankful for your limitations,
because they give you opportunities for improvement.
Be thankful for each new challenge,
because it will build your strength and character.

Be thankful for your mistakes.  They will teach you valuable lessons.
Be thankful when you’re tired and weary,
because it means you’ve made a difference.

It’s easy to be thankful for the good things.
A life of rich fulfillment comes to those who are also thankful for the setbacks.
Gratitude can turn a negative into a positive.
Find a way to be thankful for your troubles,
and they can become your blessings.

~ Author Unknown

***Want to use this article? No problem, but you must mention that: This blog was received from https://draw9.wordpress.com***

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

2 Responses to “Happy Thanksgiving!!!”

RSS Feed for Through Dawn's Eyes! Comments RSS Feed

Great post! As I read through, I could feel the depth of response to each point of thanksgiving. You are thankful IN THE MIDST, rather than in hopes of. You are thankful after having seen the goodness of God in your life and proving that we all have “something” to be positive about. If ever we are sad, down, lonely, in despair, we need only take a look around to find appreciation. Depression comes when people focus “INWARDLY” and fail to look “OUTSIDE” of themselves cause surely, when we take the time and effort to look around, there is SOMEONE else who hurts more than we do, has less than we do and needs more urgently than we do. In EVERYTHING give thanks for THIS is the will of God! Once again, He KNOWS WHAT HE IS TALKING ABOUT!

“Depression comes when people focus inwardly and fail to look outside”–I love this quote….When I feel down, helping others helps me…Thanks for the encouragement..I love when the encourager is encouraged!!!


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

