Volleyball: Division 2 is just as good as Division 1

Posted on July 31, 2009. Filed under: Encouragement/Empowerment |

It blows my mind that Division I volleyball always seem to get more media attention, more TV schedule, more inspiration stories than Division II volleyball. In my eyes the only difference between the two is $$$$ I played Division II volleyball and we have great coaches, awesome stories, great rivalries, exceptional talent and we have kicked the crap out of some DI schools as well. Why is there a misconception that D1 schools are better? My answer is the attention that it receives. Focus needs to be placed on D2 programs. Many athletes in the D2 programs do not even get a chance to compete for post college opportunities because they were not D1. Maybe I am just venting because I know of great D2 stories and players that are never known. Maybe I am just wrong and the misconception is not there. What I do know is that having played in a D2 program, I had the best experience, coaching and talent. Maybe it was just the particular program but come one, please put a bit more emphasis on D2 volleyball. You can easily find the best D2 rivalries, the best D2 games that are upcoming and talk about them or show them. Take the time to learn about D2 players and I guarantee great stories. By the way, if you are wondering, I proudly played for the University of Tampa Spartans. Whewwwwwww. I feel better.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

